14 October 2013 – 30 September 2014

Location: Dresden, Bautzen, Kamenz, Radibor, Adorf (Vogtland)

Exhibition, School Project

Vot ken you mach mobil

Vot ken you mach mobil is a project dedicated to the diversity of cultural identities for junior high schools in rural regions of Saxony and in Dresden. The mobile exhibition displays works by Amit Epstein, Shira Wachsmann and Claire Waffel in a container at the schools and offers pupils an exhibition visit followed by joint artistic work on the theme of identity in the frame of projects days. They are accompanied by different mentors, in Bautzen and Radibor by the artist Anna Schapiro, the dancer and choreographer Liron Dinovitz, the set designer Martina Lebert, and the communications research specialist and musician Lars Hiller.

Vot ken you mach mobil was developed in the frame of the show Vot ken you mach? On Jewish Identities in Europe Today at Kunsthaus Dresden in cooperation with the Jewish Community Dresden, Hatikva e. V., and the junior professorship for art and art education of the TU Dresden for junior high schools and high schools in Saxony.

The central concern is to convey to pupils positive approaches to the diversity of cultural identities in our society. Based on the example of Jewish identity and works by young Jewish artists, it is shown how identity changes in a modern society, how many different influences have an impact on our cultural self-understanding, and what role history, remembrance, the context in which one grows up, religion, the affiliation to a language area, and also current influences from the media and pop culture play in this regard.

The project day consists in viewing the mobile exhibition, the joint evaluation of what has been seen during the first half of the school day, and joint practice-oriented artistic work during the second half. Based on examples in the exhibition, own approaches to the theme of identity, of who I am and who I would like to be, are developed and tested in a playful way. Various contemporary means of expression and documentation (photo, film, video, and sound recording) are used under guidance.

The results of the pupils will be exhibited in spring of 2014 after the project work at school and also in the frame of the project at Kunsthaus Dresden.

Workshops
October 2013: Sorbische Mittelschule Bautzen with Liron Dinovitz, Martina Lebert and Lars Hiller
October 2013: Oberschule Radibor with Anna Schapiro and Lars Hiller
December 2013: Comicworkshop with Elke R. Steiner and Lars Hiller: 30. Mittelschule Dresden, 82. Mittelschule Dresden and 138. Mittelschule Dresden
February/March 2014: Videoworkshop with Maya Schweizer and Lars Hiller: Gymnasium Bürgerwiese Dresden, Sempergymnasium Dresden
May 2014: 2. Oberschule Kamenz with Liron Dinovitz and Lars Hiller
May 2014: Zentralschule Adorf (Vogtland) with Juliane Schmidt and Lars Hiller

Vot ken you mach mobil is a project dedicated to cultural education initiated by Kunsthaus Dresden – Municipal Gallery for Contemporary Art in cooperation with the Jewish Community Dresden, the Hatikva e. V., and the junior professorship of art and art education with a main focus on new media at the Institute of Art and Music Studies of the TU Dresden for junior high schools and high schools in Saxony. It is supported in the frame of the state program Weltoffenes Sachsen für Demokratie und Toleranz (Cosmopolitan Saxony for Democracy and Tolerance).

    Workshop at the 2. Oberschule Bautzen with Liron Dinovitz, Martina Lebert and Lars Hiller
    Vot ken you mach mobil in Adorf (Vogtland)

14. Oktober 2013 – 30. September 2014

Ort: Dresden, Bautzen, Kamenz, Radibor, Adorf (Vogtland)

Ausstellung, Schulprojekt

Vot ken you mach mobil

Vot ken you mach mobil ist ein Projekt zur Diversität kultureller Identität für Mittelschulen im ländlichen Raum in Dresden und im ländlichen Raum Sachsens. Die mobile Ausstellung zeigt in einem Container an den Schulen Arbeiten von Amit Epstein, Shira Wachsmann und Claire Waffel und bietet den Schülerinnen und Schülern innerhalb von Projekttagen einen Ausstellungsbesuch und anschließende gemeinsame künstlerische Arbeit zum Thema Identität. Begleitet werden sie dabei von verschiedenen Mentoren, in Bautzen und Radibor von der Künstlerin Anna Schapiro, der Tänzerin und Choreographin Liron Dinovitz, der Bühnenbildnerin Martina Lebert und dem Kommunikationswissenschaftler und Musiker Lars Hiller.

Vot ken you mach mobil wurde im Rahmen der Ausstellung Vot ken you mach? Zu jüdischen Identitäten in Europa heute im Kunsthaus Dresden in Kooperation mit der Jüdischen Gemeinde Dresden, dem Hatikva e. V. und der Juniorprofessur für Kunst und ihre Didaktik der TU Dresden für Mittelschulen und Gymnasien in Sachsen entwickelt.

Zentrales Anliegen ist es, den Schüler_innen positive Zugänge zur Vielfalt kultureller Identitäten in unserer Gesellschaft zu vermitteln. Am Beispiel jüdischer Identität und an Werken von jungen jüdischen Künstlern wird gezeigt, wie sich Identität in einer modernen Gesellschaft wandelt, wieviele unterschiedliche Einflüsse auf unser kulturelles Selbstverständnis einwirken und welche Rolle Geschichte, Erinnerung, das Umfeld, in dem man aufwächst, Religion und Zugehörigkeit zu einem Sprachraum, aber auch die aktuellen Einflüsse aus Medien und der Popkultur dabei spielen.

Der Projekttag besteht aus der gemeinsamen Besichtigung der mobilen Ausstellung, der gemeinsamen Auswertung des Gesehenen in der ersten Hälfte des Schultages und der gemeinsamen praktisch-künstlerischen Arbeit in der zweiten Hälfte des Tages. Ausgehend von den Beispielen in der Ausstellung werden spielerisch eigene Zugänge zum Thema Identität — Wer bin ich und wer möchte ich sein — entwickelt und ausprobiert. Verschiedene zeitgenössische künstlerische Ausdrucks- und Dokumentationsmedien (Foto-, Film-, Video- und Tonaufzeichnungen) werden hierbei gemeinsam unter Anleitung verwendet .

Workshops
Oktober 2013: Sorbische Mittelschule Bautzen mit Liron Dinovitz, Martina Lebert und Lars Hiller
Oktober 2013: Oberschule Radibor mit Anna Schapiro und Lars Hiller
Dezember 2013: Comicworkshop mit Elke R. Steiner und Lars Hiller: 30. Mittelschule Dresden, 82. Mittelschule Dresden und 138. Mittelschule Dresden
Februar/März 2014: Videoworkshop mit Maya Schweizer und Lars Hiller: Gymnasium Bürgerwiese Dresden, Sempergymnasium Dresden
Mai 2014: 2. Oberschule Kamenz mit Liron Dinovitz und Lars Hiller
Mai 2014: Zentralschule Adorf (Vogtland) mit Juliane Schmidt und Lars Hiller

Vot ken you mach mobil ist ein Projekt der kulturellen Bildung, initiiert vom Kunsthaus Dresden – Städtische Galerie für Gegenwartskunst, in Kooperation mitder Jüdischen Gemeinde Dresden, dem Hatikva e. V. und der Juniorprofessur für Kunst und ihre Didaktik mit dem Schwerpunkt neue Medien am Institut für Kunst- und Musikwissenschaft der TU Dresden für Mittelschulen und Gymnasien in Sachsen. Es wird gefördert im Rahmen des Landesprogramms Weltoffenes Sachsen für Demokratie und Toleranz.

    Workshop at the 2. Oberschule Bautzen with Liron Dinovitz, Martina Lebert and Lars Hiller
    Vot ken you mach mobil in Adorf (Vogtland)