Yael Bartana

The piece Degenerate Art Lives, a 16 mm film installation by the Israeli artist Yael Bartana who lives in Berlin and Amsterdam, revives a central work of Otto Dix that is simultaneously connected to Dresden’s history of art: His now famous depiction of the Kriegskrüppel (War Cripples) (1920) was shown at the first Dada exhibition in Berlin and was given as a gift to the collection of the Stadtmuseum Dresden. In 1933 the work was displayed in the first Entartete Kunst exhibition in Dresden as an example of an art defamed as degenerate. The exhibition then toured numerous other German cities. From 1927 onwards, Dix was a professor at the Kunstakademie Dresden; he had to resign in 1933. He withdrew to inward emigration and receded to allegedly harmless landscape painting in his art. His pictures War Cripples (1920) and The Trench (1917), displaying the horrors of the First World War and from which Bartana took the characters for her film, were ranked as degenerate art by the National Socialists and were presumably destroyed.
The artistic work is an act of recovering Dix’ lost works as well as his criticism of false ideals, patriotism, nationalism and heroism against the background of the First World War. The War Cripples march again here. Instead of being excluded, dispelled or destroyed, they march in ever larger numbers, with ever louder steps on the screen and, in place of the ostracized political art of the 1920s, reclaim present-day significance: Degenerate Art Lives!
Yael Bartana, who in the past years has repeatedly triggered international controversies with her works regarding the way in which historical utopias and also current political issues are dealt with, alludes to the fact that art history and social development cannot be turned into closed chapters, and that one must reckon with the spirits of the past in the present as well.
Yael Bartana (* 1970, Kfar Yehezkel, Israel) lives and works in Tel Aviv, Berlin and Amsterdam.
Yael Bartanas film installation Entartete Kunst Lebt / Degenerate Art Lives will be shown as part of the exhibition Vot ken you mach? in cooperation with the Militärhistorisches Museum der Bundeswehr in Dresden in the museum building redesigned by Daniel Libeskind at Olbrichtplatz 2 (Tram 8).

    Entartete Kunst Lebt (Degenerate Art Lives), 2010, Video- and soundinstallation, (16mm, 5 min. Loop) Courtesy Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam
    Yael Bartana: ›Entartete Kunst Lebt (Degenerate Art Lives)‹, 2010, Film- and soundinstallation (16mm, 5 min. Loop) Courtesy Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam. Photo: Nikola Radić Lucati
    Yael Bartana: ›Entartete Kunst Lebt (Degenerate Art Lives)‹, 2010, Film- and soundinstallation (16mm, 5 min. Loop) Courtesy Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda

Yael Bartana

Das Werk Entartete Kunst lebt, eine 16 mm-Filminstallation der israelischen, in Berlin und Amsterdam lebenden Künstlerin Yael Bartana, erweckt ein zentrales Werk von Otto Dix, das zugleich mit der Dresdner Kunstgeschichte verbunden ist, zu neuem Leben: Seine mittlerweile berühmte Darstellung der Kriegskrüppel (1920) wurde in der ersten Dada-Ausstellung in Berlin gezeigt und ging durch eine Schenkung in die Sammlung des Stadtmuseums Dresden ein. 1933 wurde das Werk in der ersten Ausstellung Entartete Kunst in Dresden als Beispiel der als ‚entartet’ diffamierten Kunst gezeigt, die anschließend auch durch zahlreiche weitere deutsche Städte tourte. Dix hielt ab 1927 eine Professur an der Kunstakademie Dresden inne; 1933 musste er seinen Posten verlassen. Er zog sich zurück in die innere Emigration und wich in seiner Kunst auf vermeintlich harmlose Landschaftsmalerei zurück. Seine Bilder Die Kriegskrüppel (1920) sowie The Trench (1917), die die Gräuel des Ersten Weltkriegs vor Augen führen und denen Bartana die Figuren für ihren Film entnommen hat, wurden von den Nationalsozialisten als entartete Kunst eingestuft und, so die Historie, vernichtet.
Die künstlerische Arbeit ist ein Akt der Wiederherstellung des verschollenen Werkes von Dix wie auch der hier formulierten Kritik an falschen Idealen, Patriotismus, Nationalismus und Heldentum, damals vor dem Hintergrund des Ersten Weltkrieges. Die Kriegskrüppel marschieren hier erneut. Statt ausgegrenzt, verstoßen oder vernichtet zu werden, marschieren sie in immer größerer Zahl, mit immer lauteren Schritten auf die Bildfläche und erobern, stellvertretend für die verfemte politische Kunst der zwanziger Jahre, den Anspruch auf aktuelle Bedeutung: Entartete Kunst lebt!
Yael Bartana, die mit ihren Arbeiten in den letzten Jahren international mehrfach Kontroversen um den Umgang mit historischen Utopien und aktuellen politischen Fragen ausgelöst hat, spielt in ihrer Arbeit darauf an, dass sich Kunstgeschichte und gesellschaftliche Entwicklung nicht in abgeschlossene Kapitel verwandeln lassen, sondern auch in der Gegenwart mit den Geistern der Vergangenheit gerechnet werden muss.
Yael Bartana (* 1970, Kfar Yehezkel, Israel) lebt und arbeitet in Tel Aviv , Berlin und Amsterdam.
Yael Bartanas Filminstallation Entartete Kunst Lebt wird als Teil der Ausstellung Vot ken you mach? in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Militärhistorischen Museum der Bundeswehr in Dresden, in dem von Daniel Libeskind umgestalteten Museumsbau am Olbrichtplatz 2 (Tram 8) gezeigt.

    Entartete Kunst Lebt (Degenerate Art Lives), 2010, Video- and soundinstallation, (16mm, 5 min. Loop) Courtesy Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam
    Yael Bartana: ›Entartete Kunst Lebt (Degenerate Art Lives)‹, 2010, Film- and soundinstallation (16mm, 5 min. Loop) Courtesy Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam. Photo: Nikola Radić Lucati
    Yael Bartana: ›Entartete Kunst Lebt (Degenerate Art Lives)‹, 2010, Film- and soundinstallation (16mm, 5 min. Loop) Courtesy Annet Gelink Gallery, Amsterdam. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda