Nikola Radić Lucati

The fever (numismatic value)
2013
Installation
Recherche: Milovan Pisarri,
Fotografie: Archive of Yugoslavia

›Commemorative plaques have a special function in history, they should ensure that famous people and events are permanently remembered in an aesthetically pleasant way. In Yugoslavian socialism, remembrance was closely tied to the hierarchy of state and party, medals were awarded for active resistance. Civilian victims were only remembered in exceptional cases. Nowadays, in the times of historical revisionism and fascist movements regaining strength, victims are intentionally left to oblivion in order to avoid remembrance leading to uneasy revelations and insights.

The commemorative plaque for providing a false testimony should transcend the obliteration of memory by connecting the living testimony with the atrocity at the location where the crime was committed. The commemorative plaque should simultaneously overcome the possibility of censorship by being mobile and installable in interior spaces in which the testimony can be guarded and preserved. Commemorative plaques are not artworks. The discovery of a historical site of an event of the Holocaust in present-day Serbia has a different meaning today and other consequences than if such an event had occurred twenty years ago.

In the age of revisionism and the new social norm of appeasement through mutual recognition, it is a call to review the established framework of the political order that still determined hierarchies of victims, in which the testimony, based on forensic findings, is brought to the fore of a new political discourse again. This demand will not necessarily lead to a return to the ethic category of responsibility in contemporary consciousness as long as the other concept, which has the same roots, namely respect, cannot be called upon either.

The permanent marking of the event at the site where it occurred would only serve to make the event a part of the media landscape of a post-war and post-genocide state with its socio-economic and ethnic majorities that still advocate ideologies that are perfectly suitable to stabilise the injustice of the past wars.

At the same time, it is not possible not to enter into the discourse and not offer the crime and the testimony of it to the sacrificial altar as long as there is the slightest chance to make the gold in the eye of the ›innocent present‹ sparkle, if not to speak their language, only for a moment, so that the ›higher meaning-carriers‹1 which is in no way influenced by the silence of the past, can hear the words of the witness.‹

(Text: Nicola Radić Lucati)

1 Giorgio Agamben, Remnants of Auschwitz: The Witness and the Archive, trans. Daniel Heller-Roazen, Zone Books: New York, 1999.

Nikola Radić Lucati (*1971 in Belgrade) lives and works in Tel Aviv and Belgrade.

 

 

In collaboration with Rafał Jakubowicz:

Das Seine – Forschungsprojekt
2011
Nikola Radić Lucati, As They Stand, 14 photographs
Rafał Jakubowicz , FIASKO, lettering made of corroded steel

The artistic research project Das Seine connects places whose historical meanings today appear diametrically opposed to us: Staro Sajmište, the old fair ground in the centre of Belgrade which was turned into a concentration camp by the SS and Gestapo, and architecture views from the south of Tel Aviv and Jaffa. The architectural similarities between the photographed building complexes are therefore all the more striking to the viewer. Together, the fourteen photographs by Nikola Radić Lucati and a sculptural work by Rafał Jakubowicz, the lettering FIASKO, form the artistic research complex Das Seine, in which individual branches of the Bauhaus tradition are examined in different historical constellations. All fourteen photographs by Nikola Radić Lucati depict architectures built under the influence of the Bauhaus that were meant to give a positive signal for a social departure to modernism. While the buildings in Israel were to offer modern dwellings for a young nation, Staro Sajmište was erected in 1937 as an international fair complex and as a representative part of a ‘New Belgrade’, four years before the invasion of the National Socialists. Between 1942 and 1944, around 32,000 people were interned on the area between representative pavilions before being driven on to other camps. The camp counted as one of the most brutal Gestapo camps in occupied Serbia and was the site of incredible atrocities; the 7,000 Jewish women and children and elderly of Belgrade as well as members of the Roma people were murdered here. After the war, the grounds were offered to artists as studios. Today, the artists and descendants Roma families are living in the dilapidated buildings; all attempts of various initiatives to establish a memorial center for the victims have failed until now, despite a resolution by the city council.

The German lettering FIASKO made of corroded steel by Rafał Jakubowicz is the second part of the joint work Das Seine. By using a historical typography, Jakubowicz refers to the historical synthesis of two developments conceived of as contrary in German history, the artistic avant-garde and National Socialism. As an inmate of the Buchenwald concentration camp, the former Bauhaus student and colleague Franz Ehrlich designed the gate inscription Jedem das Seine in the style of the Bauhaus, which was partly adopted by the Nazis despite the official despise of international modern style. After being released in 1939, Ehrlich went on to design further structures including the commander’s villa in Buchenwald and the camp’s zoo. Afterwards, he was a soldier of the punishment unit 999 in Greece. In 1946 Franz Ehrlich allegedly returned from war imprisonment in Yugoslavia to Germany, where he became the head of the department for reconstruction in Dresden. As a master student of the Bauhaus, but also as a celebrated architect in the GDR, Ehrlich’s biography invites one to call into question what is seemingly clear by considering the ambiguity of the missing parts of his biography.

Nikola Radić Lucati (*1971 in Belgrade) lives and works in Tel Aviv and Belgrade.

Rafał Jakubowicz (*1974 in Poznań) lives and works in Poznań.

    Nikola Radic Lucati: ›The Fever (numismatic value)‹, Installation, 2013 Cured UV auf Stahl. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    Nikola Radic Lucati: ›The Fever (numismatic value)‹, Installation, 2013 Cured UV auf Stahl. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    Nikola Radic Lucati: ›The Fever (numismatic value)‹, Installation, 2013 Cured UV auf Stahl. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    Nikola Radic Lucati: ›The Fever (numismatic value)‹, Installation, 2013 Cured UV auf Stahl. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    Nikola Radić Lucati: ›The fever (numismatic value)‹, 2013, Installation view, Photo: David Brandt
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda

Nikola Radić Lucati

The fever (numismatic value)
2013
Installation
Recherche: Milovan Pisarri,
Fotografie: Archive of Yugoslavia

›Gedenktafeln haben eine besondere Funktion in der Geschichte inne, sie sollen sicherstellen, dass berühmte Menschen und Ereignisse dauerhaft und auf ästhetisch angenehme Weise in Erinnerung bleiben. Im Jugoslawischen Sozialismus war das Gedenken aufs engste mit der Hierarchie von Staat und Partei verbunden, Orden wurden für aktiven Widerstand vergeben. Ziviler Opfer wurden nur im Ausnahmefall gedacht. Heutzutage, in Zeiten des historischen Revisionismus und des Wiedererstarkens faschistischer Bewegungen, werden die Opfer absichtsvoll dem Vergessen überlassen, um zu vermeiden, dass das Gedenken zu unbequemen Enthüllungen und Erkenntnissen führt.

Die Gedenktafel für eine falsch abgelegte Zeugenaussage soll das Auslöschen der Erinnerung transzendieren, indem sie das lebendige Zeugnis mit den Grausamkeiten an dem Ort verbindet, an dem das Verbrechen stattfand. Die Gedenktafel soll zugleich die Möglichkeit der Zensur überwinden, indem sie mobil ist und in Innenräumen installiert werden kann, in denen das Zeugnis bewacht und bewahrt werden kann. Die Gedenktafeln sind keine künstlerischen Arbeiten. Das Entdecken eines historischen Schauplatzes eines Ereignisses des Holocausts im heutigen Serbien hat heute eine andere Bedeutung und eine andere Konsequenz als wenn ein solches Ereignis vor zwanzig Jahren stattgefunden hätte.

Im Zeitalter des Revisionismus und der neuen sozialen Norm der Besänftigung durch gegenseitige Anerkennung, ist es ein Aufruf zur Überprüfung des etablierten Rahmenwerkes der politischen Ordnung, die immer noch die Opferhierarchien bestimmt, in dem das Zeugnis, gestützt durch gerichtsmedizinische Befunde, wieder in das Zentrum eines neuen politischen Diskurses gestellt wird. Diese Forderung wird nicht notwendigerweise zu einer Rückkehr der ethischen Kategorie der Verantwortung in das zeitgenössische Bewusstsein führen, solange wie der andere Begriff, der die selben Wurzeln hat, nämlich Respekt, ebenfalls nicht abgerufen werden kann.

Die dauerhafte Markierung des Ereignisses an dem Ort des Geschehens würde nur dazu dienen, das Ereignis zum Teil einer Medienlandschaft eines Nachkriegs- und Nach-Genozid-Staates zu machen mit seinen sozio-ökonomischen und ethnischen Mehrheiten, die immer noch Ideologien unterstützen, die bestens geeignet sind, das Unrecht der vergangenen Kriege zu stabilisieren.

Zugleich ist es nicht möglich, nicht in den Diskurs einzutreten und die Tat wie auch das Zeugnis hierüber nicht auf dem Opferaltar darzubringen, solange die leiseste Chance besteht, das Gold im Auge der ›unschuldigen Gegenwart‹ zum Glitzern zu bringen, wenn schon nicht ihre Sprache zu sprechen, nur für einen Moment, so dass der ›höhere Sinnesträger‹*, der in keiner Weise durch das Schweigen der Vergangenheit beeinflusst ist, die Worte des Zeugen hören kann.‹

(Text: Nicola Radić Lucati, Übersetzung: Christiane Mennicke-Schwarz)

* Giorgio Agamben, Remnants of Auschwitz: The Witness and the Archive, trans. Daniel Heller-Roazen, Zone Books: New York, 1999.
(Giorgio Agamben. Was von Auschwitz bleibt – Das Archiv und der Zeuge. Frankfurt am Main, Suhrkamp Verlag, 2003)

Nikola Radić Lucati (*1971 in Belgrad) lebt und arbeitet in Tel Aviv und Belgrad.

 

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit Rafał Jakubowicz
Das Seine – Forschungsprojekt
2011
Nikola Radić Lucati, As They Stand, 14 Fotografien
Rafał Jakubowicz, Fiasko, Schriftzug aus korrodiertem Stahl

Das künstlerische Forschungsprojekt Das Seine verbindet Orte, deren historische Bedeutung für uns heute diametral entgegengesetzt scheint: Staro Sajmište, das alte Messegelände im Zentrum Belgrads, das von den Nationalsozialisten in ein Konzentrationslager verwandelt wurde und Architekturansichten aus dem Süden von Tel Aviv und Jaffa. Umso frappierender wirken sich auf den Betrachter die architektonischen Ähnlichkeiten zwischen den fotografierten Gebäudekomplexen aus. Vierzehn Fotografien von Nikola Radić Lucati und eine bildhauerische Arbeit von Rafał Jakubowicz, der Schriftzug Fiasko, bilden gemeinsam den künstlerischen Forschungskomplex Das Seine, in dem einzelne Verästelungen der Bauhaustradition in unterschiedlichen historischen Konstellationen nachgegangen wird. Alle vierzehn Fotografien von Nikola Radić Lucati zeigen Architektur, die unter dem Einfluss des Bauhauses entstanden ist und ein positives Zeichen für einen gesellschaftlichen Aufbruch in die Moderne setzen sollte. Während die Bauten in Israel modernen Wohnraum für eine junge Nation bieten sollten, wurde Staro Sajmište 1937 als internationales Messegelände und repräsentativer Teil eines ‚Neuen Belgrad’ vier Jahre vor dem Einmarsch der Nationalsozialisten gebaut. Auf der Fläche zwischen repräsentativen Pavillonbauten wurden zwischen 1942 und 1944 ca. 32.000 Menschen interniert, bevor sie in andere Lager weitergetrieben wurden. Das Lager galt als das brutalste Gestapo-Lager im besetzten Serbien und war Schauplatz unvorstellbarer Grausamkeiten; fast die gesamte 8.000 Menschen umfassende jüdische Bevölkerung von Belgrad wie auch Roma-Angehörige wurden hier ermordet. Nach dem Krieg wurde das Gelände Künstlern als Atelierraum angeboten Heute leben in den verfallenen Gebäuden Nachfahren der Künstler und Roma-Familien; alle Versuche verschiedener Initiativen, hier ein Mahnmal für die Opfer einzurichten, sind trotz eines Stadtratsbeschlusses bisher gescheitert.

Der aus korrodiertem Stahl gefertigte Schriftzug FIASKO in deutscher Sprache von Rafał Jakubowicz ist der zweite Teil der gemeinsamen Arbeit Das Seine. Jakubowicz bezieht sich auf die historische Synthese zweier als gegenläufig gedachter Entwicklungen in der deutschen Geschichte, künstlerische Avantgarde und Nationalsozialismus, indem er eine historische Typografie verwendet. Als Lagerinsasse im KZ Buchenwald gestaltete der ehemalige Bauhaus-Student und -Mitarbeiter Franz Ehrlich die Torinschrift Jedem das Seine im von den Nazis verpönten Bauhausstil. Nach der Entlassung 1939 gestaltete Ehrlich weiterhin mehrere Bauten, unter anderem die Kommandantenvilla von Buchenwald und den Lagerzoo. Anschließend war er Soldat im Strafbataillon 999 in Griechenland. 1946 kehrte Franz Ehrlich aus jugoslawischer Kriegsgefangenschaft nach Deutschland zurück und wurde Leiter des Referates für Wiederaufbau in Dresden. Als Meisterschüler des Bauhaus‘, aber auch als gefeierter Architekt in der DDR lädt die Biographie Ehrlichs dazu ein, scheinbar Eindeutiges auf verborgene Mehrdeutigkeit zu hinterfragen.

Nikola Radić Lucati (*1971 in Belgrad) lebt und arbeitet in Tel Aviv und Belgrad.

Rafał Jakubowicz (*1974 in Poznań) lebt und arbeitet in Poznań.

    Nikola Radic Lucati: ›The Fever (numismatic value)‹, Installation, 2013 Cured UV auf Stahl. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    Nikola Radic Lucati: ›The Fever (numismatic value)‹, Installation, 2013 Cured UV auf Stahl. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    Nikola Radic Lucati: ›The Fever (numismatic value)‹, Installation, 2013 Cured UV auf Stahl. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    Nikola Radic Lucati: ›The Fever (numismatic value)‹, Installation, 2013 Cured UV auf Stahl. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    Nikola Radić Lucati: ›The fever (numismatic value)‹, 2013, Installation view, Photo: David Brandt
    ›Das Seine. Forschungsprojekt‹ 2011. Nikola Radić Lucati: ›As They Stand‹, 14 photographs Rafał Jakubowicz: ›Fiasco‹, lettering made of corroded steel. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda