Claire Waffel

Interior Curtain
2013
Curtain rod, cotton, hooks, rope

The Speech
2013
HD video, 17 min

Claire Waffel employs different media such as film, photography, drawing and installation to create an interplay of temporal levels which we usually perceive separately. Her art combines biographical motifs and narrative elements with her interest in abstract and formal examinations and their results. She predominantly deals with the question of ›how to visualise different levels of time that are inscribed next to each other in people, architecture or places‹.
Claire Waffel’s previous exploration of historical presences in our time is set in a biographical relation in the show Vot ken you mach?. A 17-minute speech on the occasion of his departure from professional life held by the executive director of the Employers’ Federation of North Rhine-Westphalia (representing employers’ interests vis-à-vis the unions and the government), who is also Claire Waffel’s father, is the starting point of a video work. The speech was held and recorded once more in the empty auditorium of the House of World Cultures in Berlin. In the original speech, Claire Waffel’s father had wanted to look back on his professional life and also take a stand on personal mistakes. For example, he deemed it an act of omission never to have mentioned the Jewish identity of his wife and children throughout his entire career.
In the actually held speech and in the re-enactment in the House of World Cultures, this omission is upheld, the family’s Jewish identity is not addressed. How is Jewish identity lived in Germany/Europe and in which way is it made a theme in society? The twice repeated omission gives rise to questions on the cause of this void and the attendant social context.
A further work consists of several lengths of fabric crossing the gallery space of the Kunsthaus from ceiling to floor. The individual lengths are attached to rails and therefore potentially moveable. The installation Interior Curtain enables approaching the question of identity in an abstract way – moveable components of a permeable structure that have no essence, no secret core, merely an alterable constellation of elements in a given space.

Claire Waffel (*1978 in Lüdenscheid) lives and works in Berlin.

    Front: Claire Waffel: ›Interior Curtain‹, 2013, back: Anna Schapiro: ›Vier Verwandte‹, 2013, Exhibition view, Photo: David Brandt
    Claire Waffel: ›Interior Curtain‹, 2013 and ›Die Rede‹, 2013, Photo: David Brandt
    Claire Waffel: ›Interior Curtain‹, 2013, Curtain rod, cotton, hooks, rope. And ›The Speech‹, 2013, Video. Photo: Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    Eran Nave: ›The Axis Reversed‹ , Video. Claire Waffel: ›Interiour Curtain‹ Photo: Małgorzata Kujda. Ausstellungsansicht Wrocław

Claire Waffel

Interior Curtain
2013
Gardinenstange, Baumwolle, Haken, Seil

Die Rede
2013
HD Video, 17 min

Claire Waffel setzt verschiedene Medien wie Film, Fotografie, Zeichnung und Installation ein, um ein Zusammenspiel von zeitlichen Ebenen zu erzeugen, die in unserer Wahrnehmung üblicherweise getrennt aufgenommen werden. Ihr Werk verbindet biografische Motive und narrative Elemente mit abstrakten und formalen Untersuchungsinteressen und Ergebnissen. Dabei beschäftigt sie vor allem die Frage, ›wie verschiedene Zeitebenen sichtbar gemacht werden können, die nebeneinander in Menschen, Architektur oder Orten eingeschrieben sind‹.
Claire Waffels vorangegangene künstlerische Untersuchung historischer Präsenzen in unserer aktuellen Gegenwart findet in der Ausstellung Vot ken you mach? einen biografischen Bezug. Eine 17-minütige Rede, die der Geschäftsführer des Arbeitgeberverbandes in NRW (eine Interessenvertretung von Arbeitgebern gegenüber Gewerkschaften und dem Staat), zugleich Claire Waffels Vater, zu seinem Abschied aus dem aktiven Berufsleben hielt, bildet den Ausgangspunkt einer Videoarbeit, die im leeren Auditorium des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin erneut gehalten und aufgenommen wurde. In der ursprünglich gehaltenen Rede wollte Claire Waffels Vater einen Rückblick auf seine berufliche Tätigkeit vornehmen und auch zu persönlichen Fehlern Stellung nehmen. So empfand er die Tatsache, dass er die jüdische Identität seiner Frau und Kinder in der gesamten Zeit seines aktiven Berufslebens verschwiegen hatte, als Unterlassung.
In der tatsächlich gehaltenen Rede wie auch bei der Wiederaufführung im Haus der Kulturen der Welt bleibt es bei dieser Unterlassung, die jüdische Identität der Familie wird nicht thematisiert. Wie wird jüdische Identität in Deutschland/Europa gelebt und auf welche Weise gesellschaftlich thematisiert? Die zweifach wiederholte Auslassung wirft Fragen auf über die Ursache dieser Leerstelle und den gesellschaftlichen Kontext dazu.
Eine weitere Arbeit besteht aus mehreren Stoffbahnen, die den Ausstellungsraum im Kunsthaus von der Decke bis zum Boden kreuzen. Die einzelnen Bahnen sind an Schienen befestigt und damit potentiell beweglich. Die Installation Interior Curtain ermöglicht einen abstrakten Zugang zur Frage nach der Identität. Es sind bewegliche Bestandteile einer durchlässigen Struktur, bei denen es keine Essenz, keinen geheimen Kern gibt, sondern lediglich eine sich verändernde Konstellation von Elementen in einem gegebenen Raum.

Claire Waffel (*1978 in Lüdenscheid) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

    Front: Claire Waffel: ›Interior Curtain‹, 2013, back: Anna Schapiro: ›Vier Verwandte‹, 2013, Exhibition view, Photo: David Brandt
    Claire Waffel: ›Interior Curtain‹, 2013 and ›Die Rede‹, 2013, Photo: David Brandt
    Claire Waffel: ›Interior Curtain‹, 2013, Curtain rod, cotton, hooks, rope. And ›The Speech‹, 2013, Video. Photo: Photo: Małgorzata Kujda
    Eran Nave: ›The Axis Reversed‹ , Video. Claire Waffel: ›Interiour Curtain‹ Photo: Małgorzata Kujda. Ausstellungsansicht Wrocław