Barak Reiser

Erich, 2007, Video, 7 min
Seen / Seen, 2010, Video, 17 min
o.T. , 2013, (A Graph Without A Photo)
Tzel, 2013, installation (light and shadow)

The video piece Erich (2002, 7 min.) shows a flâneur walking through the city, passing four places that lie close to each other and were part of the life of the artist’s grandfather, Erich Strauss, before he emigrated to Palestine in 1936: A new residential building instead of the old one, the wall of a Chinese garden and the former sites of the synagogue and the municipal library. Seen / Seen documents the hands of two persons. ›I have seen it all / I have seen nothing‹ writes one hand, while the other erases the writing.
Predominantly using the medium of video, but also analogue media such as drawing, collage and text, Barak Reiser’s works address the patterns of representation and perceptibility of different historical levels and languages. His pieces translate statements from one visual language into the other, from the binary code as the language of the digital world into two-dimensional collage, from the flickering screen to ink and acrylic paint.
The Hebrew word Tzel – צל , belonging to the same word family as Tzilum (Engl.: photography) and
Tzelem (Engl.: graven image or also picture) appears as a key motif in his work, alongside other, at first plausible, but at second glace rather paradoxical statements: ›The longer one looks at it, the clearer it becomes.‹ Placed in different locations in the building, Barak Reiser’s pieces establish connections to the site and to the directly adjacent artworks.

Barak Reiser (*1973 in Haifa) lives and works in Frankfurt am Main.

    Seen / Seen, 2010, Video, 17 min.
    Tzel, 2013, installation (light and shadow), Photo: David Brandt
    Shira Wachsmann: ›Without Borders‹, 2013, Videoinstallation, 16 min., Bronzeleuchter und Barak Reiser: ›o.T. (A Graph Without A Photo)‹, 2013. Foto: David Brandt
    Barak Reiser: ›o.T. (A Graph Without a Photo)‹, Installation, 2013. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda

Barak Reiser

Erich, 2007, Video, 7 min
Seen / Seen, 2010, Video, 17 min
o.T. , 2013, (A Graph Without A Photo)
Tzel, 2013, Installation (Licht und Schatten)

Die Videoarbeit Erich (2002, 7 min) zeigt einen Flaneur beim Spaziergang durch die Stadt entlang an vier Orten, die sehr nah beieinander liegen und Teil des Lebens von Erich Strauss, dem Großvater des Künstlers, waren, bevor dieser 1936 nach Palästina emigrierte: Ein neues Wohnhaus anstelle des alten, die Mauer zu einem chinesischen Garten sowie die früheren Standorte von Synagoge und Stadtbibliothek. Seen / Seen dokumentiert die Hände von zwei Personen. ›Ich habe alles gesehen / ich habe nichts gesehen‹ (I have seen it all / I have seen nothing) schreibt die eine, während die andere die Schrift ausradiert.
Vorwiegend im Medium Video, aber auch in den analogen Medien Zeichnung, Collage, Text wie auch mehrteiligen Installationen, adressieren Barak Reisers Arbeiten die Darstellungsmuster und Wahrnehmbarkeit verschiedener historischer Ebenen und Sprachen. Seine Arbeiten übersetzen Aussagen von einer visuellen Sprache in die andere, vom binären Code als Sprache der digitalen Welt zur zweidimensionalen Collage, vom Bildschirmflimmern zu Tinte und Acrylfarben.
Das hebräische Wort Tzel – צל , in einer Bedeutungsfamilie mit Tzilum (dt: Fotografie) und Tzelem (dt.: Götzenbild oder auch Bild) taucht als Schlüsselmotiv seiner Arbeit gemeinsam mit anderen zunächst plausiblen, auf den zweiten Blick jedoch eher paradoxen Aussagen ›Je länger man darauf schaut desto klarer wird es‹ immer wieder auf. An verschiedenen Ort im Haus platziert stellen die Arbeiten von Barak Reiser Beziehungen zum Ort wie auch zu den künstlerischen Arbeiten in der unmittelbaren Nachbarschaft her.

Barak Reiser (*1973 in Haifa) lebt und arbeitet in Frankfurt am Main.

    Seen / Seen, 2010, Video, 17 min.
    Tzel, 2013, installation (light and shadow), Photo: David Brandt
    Shira Wachsmann: ›Without Borders‹, 2013, Videoinstallation, 16 min., Bronzeleuchter und Barak Reiser: ›o.T. (A Graph Without A Photo)‹, 2013. Foto: David Brandt
    Barak Reiser: ›o.T. (A Graph Without a Photo)‹, Installation, 2013. Photo: Małgorzata Kujda